Dear MSSA Friends,

Sheriffs First, HB 274, went down by 39-61 on Second Reading on the floor of the House today.  A bunch of Republicans voted against it, probably because of heavy lobbying by sheriffs.  That is driven by the President of the Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association, Sheriff Chris Hoffman of Ravalli County, and MSPOA lobbyist Jim Smith.  The Republicans who voted against HB 274 include:

Tom Berry
Christy Clark
Rob Cook
Geraldine Custer
Ron Ehli
Jeff Essman
Steve Fitzpatrick
Frank Garner
Edward Greef
Roy Hollandsworth
Mike Lang
Steve Lavin
Forrest Mandeville
Mike Miller
Doc Moore
Tom Richmond
Daniel Salomon
Ray Shaw
Kirk Wagoner
Jeffrey Welborn

Stay tuned for more …

Gary Marbut, President
Montana Shooting Sports Association
Author, Gun Laws of Montana

By mssa